Good old fashioned stationery style from Ruby Pseudo Creative Youth Consultancy

3 Jul

Not long ago I encountered a creative youth consultancy unlike any other – who really get to the heart of what makes young people tick.

Far from your usual bunch of pencil pushing out-of-touch suits. This agency is staffed by self-styled Shoreditch-ites and some of the most forward thinking youngsters you’ve ever met.

However, what stopped me in my tracks the most, was their genuine time, effort and attention that had gone in to their choice of stationery. Anyone who knows me will have encountered my magpie ways, and my innability to contain my excitement at DIY/personal touches.

I can imagine that there are no chewed up biros cluttering up the desks at Ruby Pseudo Consultancy, and most certainly no impersonal word processed robot letters being churned out. As my mum carefully pointed out – ‘they really do what they do so well.’

Out of the Ordinary: Spectacular Craft by Laurie Britton Newell

Getting to the point, the lovely people at RPC were kind enough to forward on a gift (on behalf of a client) that they had carefully picked out – and boy did they pick well! In 2007 Laurie Britton Newell (curator for the Contemporary Team at the V&A) constructed a beautiful book on contemporary craft, a collaboration of the Crafts Council and the V&A.

Out of the Ordinary: Spectacular Craft by Laurie Britton Newell

The book ‘Out of the Ordinary: Contemporary Crafts’ is a work that aims to showcase ‘international artists who use craft to transform everyday subjects and materials into works that are extraordinary’ [Laurie Britton Newell.] It features such works as ‘Ice Jewellery’ from Naomi Filmer (1999) and recclaimed metals and materials reworked in to entrance gates and doors by Nigerian born artist Olu Amoda (1995-2008.)

The best part about the care package however, was the ‘RPC’ personalised wax seal set on a thick textured paper envelope. I have also heard rumours that there may soon be a crest! I cannot wait!

One Response to “Good old fashioned stationery style from Ruby Pseudo Creative Youth Consultancy”

  1. Ruby Pseudo August 1, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Bless you, what a lovely thing to read… I’m glad you like the wax seal, it’s one of my favourite things! Our crest is ready too lady, I’ll show you it when we meet up next…

    Ruby Pseudo [I like to put the ‘e’ before the ‘u’ ;)]
    xxx

Leave a Reply

