Abandoned Stoke Pottery Factory

26 Feb

Up in the heights of Hanley some students had discovered an old, haunting, but beautifully ominous abandoned pottery factory, here are some phone images of what was found:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Of course I ensured I respected the surroundings, I didn’t disturb the creeking floorboards, or the water logged roof’s.

Carcuses of what was once an office chamber held name stamps and desk chairs.

What was most distrubing about the facory space – was the idea that it seemed that there was a certain ‘unfinished business’ about it. As if all the work people just decided to down-tools and leave one morning.

A great opportunity to photograph  an undisturbed scene – as if it were from a film or a music video of a tortured soul. Unfortunately I only had my phone to take pictures with, but what I did manage to photograph came out quite well.

4 Responses to “Abandoned Stoke Pottery Factory”

  1. An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

    • ellaouise April 7, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Oh, thank you. I’m hoping to back there soon with a friend. Hopefully get some better pictures – and some more treasure.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The butterfly whisperer glass dome inspired by Sweet Paul « - July 19, 2011

    […] photographer and foodie) but used an English made Staffordshire saucer (foraged from my trip to the abandoned pottery factory) and turned a vase upside down in place of a glass […]

  2. Top 5 Tuesday: Favourite Bella Bunting Blog photo’s « - March 8, 2011

    […] Abandoned Stoke Pottery Factory […]

Leave a Reply

