Le petit Bateau garland

18 Feb

At first I had a burning passion to create a headband, similar to a origami boat headband I had seen at graduate fashion week in 2010. However, it rains more often than I’ve had hot dinners in Staffordshire – I decided against it and opted for a sweet unassuming garland.

Inspiration:Le petit bateau shop, Pirates & tales of the sea, simple origami craft, classroom boredom, material & texture and passion for bunting.

Project:I followed an adorable tutorial on Metcafe to remind me of how to construct a boat out of paper. I then transferred this new origami passion to other materials, glossy magazine paper, felt, brown wrapping paper and songsheets. I then pulled through some sewing thread at the bow and the stern.

TOPTIP:Odd numbers always allow a perfect dip in bunting or garlands. Go for obscure fabrics, starched dress fabric, present wrapping paper or even post-it notes.

Leave a Reply

